Industry Associate DM Winner at Women in Tech Awards

February 19, 2015 | By | Add a Comment

Photo credit: LinkedIn

Associate Deputy Minister Kelly Gillis at Industry Canada was named as one of the winners in the leadership category at the annual Women in Communications and Technology (WCT) Awards on Tuesday. The awards recognize, “wavemakers in technology, broadcasting and communications.”

Gillis was recognized specifically for excellence in public sector leadership and for “championing Canada’s transition to a digital economy, promoting the development and use of world-class information and communications technologies for the economic, social and cultural benefit of all Canadians.”

The other 14 winners in that category were:

• Borika Vucinic, Director, TV Engineering and Operations, Bell
• Clare Beckton, Executive Director, Centre for Women in Politics and Public Leadership, Carleton University
• Dervla Kelly, Head of Corporate Communications, Shaw Media
• Heidi Davidson, Senior Vice President, BlackBerry Ltd.
• Laurel Broten, President and CEO, Broten Public Policy International
• Lisa Lyons, President, Kids Can Press, Corus Entertainment
• Nikki Moffat, Senior Vice President, Finance, Bell Media
• Pat DiVittorio, Vice President, Program Planning, Bell Media
• Robin Hildebrand, Manager, HR & Regulatory, Golden West Broadcasting Ltd.
• Sandra Saric, Vice President, Information and Communications Technology Council
• Sandy McIntosh, Senior Vice-President and Chief HR Officer, TELUS
• Trina Alexson, Vice President of Advance Services, Cisco Canada
• Ulrike Bahr-Gedalia, President and CEO, Digital Nova Scotia (DNS)

Woman of the year was won by:

Mary Ann Turcke Group President, Media Sales Local TV & Radio, Bell Media

WCT is a national association committed to helping women in Canada learn, build strong relationships and advance in telecommunications, media and technology. WCT provides opportunities for its members to network, be mentored, and get access to targeted educational opportunities relevant to their career advancement.

The actual awards ceremony and gala will take place in Ottawa on April 22.

Click here for more information about each of the winners.


Category: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply