The Public Service Award of Excellence recognizes employees who have demonstrated excellence in achieving results for Canadians and who reflect the priorities of the public service, while demonstrating key leadership competencies. This year, 131 recipients of the received awards in five categories.

Outstanding Career

  • Stuart L. Beaton LCol (Retired), National Defence
  • William D. Blight, Public Services and Procurement Canada
  • Melvyn Cameron Brown, National Defence
  • Serge Dupont, Privy Council Office
  • Daniel Harvey, Canada Border Services Agency
  • Donna F. Mitchell, National Defence
  • Larry Smith, Global Affairs Canada

The Joan Atkinson Award

  • Theresa Friday, Canadian Grain Commission
  • Todd Lyons, Natural Resources Canada
  • 2017 Innovation Fair Privy Council Office
  • Census Of Population Team, Statistics Canada

Exemplary Contribution Under Extraordinary Circumstances

  • Dams and Water Management and Transportation Engineering Team, Public Services and Procurement Canada
  • Disability Award Increase Automation, Veterans Affairs Canada
  • Service Canada Fort McMurray Wildfire Response Team, Employment and Social Development Canada

Exceptional Young Public Servants

  • Carmen Chan, Canada Revenue Agency
  • Mason Magill, Employment and Social Development Canada
  • Hilary Paulin, Environment and Climate Change Canada

Excellence In Profession

  • Oscar Chen-See, Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
  • Andrea Hudson, Global Affairs Canada
  • Mark Ingalls, Canada Border Services Agency
  • Matt Jones, Environment and Climate Change Canada
  • Manisha Mehrotra, Health Canada
  • Canadian Astronaut Recruitment Team (2016–17), Canadian Space Agency
  • Federal Geospatial Platform, Natural Resources Canada
  • ForestInfo Science Team, Natural Resources Canada
  • Parliamentary Precinct Operations Team – Block 1 Public Services and Procurement Canada

While Clerk Michael Wernick delivered a rousing speech that highlighted the importance of celebrating the successes of the Canadian public service—the greatest in the world, by recent estimation—the ceremony was not without disappointments.

The awards were conducted in near secrecy, with a communications embargo that was never lifted, and with little official fanfare on the day of the event. The Canadian Museum of Nature provided a spartan, industrial-feeling space which felt cold, in stark contrast to the warmth of the gathering (and compared to the previous venues).

Notably absent was the Governor General, Her Excellency the Right Honourable Julie Payette, and also the actual award trophies which are to be delivered to the recipient’s home departments at a later date.

In all, a rather disappointing execution of what could have been a monumental event in this, Canada’s 150th year.

UPDATE – 31 December 2017: Trophies, which were not presented to recipients at the time of the ceremony, have still not been delivered as of the last day of Canada’s 150th.

2 thoughts on “2017 Public Service Award of Excellence Winners”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *